Kolkata Knight Riders Win Third Title, Beat Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kolkata Knight Riders Beat Sunrisers Hyderabad

In a spectacular finale at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by eight wickets on May 26, 2024, to win their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title. The match showcased brilliant performances from both sides, but KKR emerged as the dominant team, showcasing their consistency and prowess throughout the season.

A Dominant Bowling Display

Winning the toss, SRH captain Pat Cummins opted to bat first. However, his decision yielded a different result. KKR’s bowlers were exceptional, with Mitchell Starc leading the attack. Starc dismissed the in-form Abhishek Sharma with a spectacular delivery in the first over, setting the tone for the match. The SRH batting lineup struggled against KKR’s disciplined bowling.

Vaibhav Arora joined the party by removing Travis Head in the second over, followed by Harshit Rana’s brilliant delivery to dismiss Nitish Kumar Reddy. Andre Russell also played a crucial role, taking three key wickets, including Aiden Markram’s. The SRH batsmen found it difficult to build partnerships and were eventually bowled out for a mere 113 runs in 18.3 overs.

Quick Chase by KKR

Chasing a modest target of 114, KKR got off to a flying start despite losing Sunil Narine early in the innings. Narine hit a six off the first ball but was soon dismissed by Pat Cummins. However, Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer took control, ensuring that KKR remained on track.

Venkatesh Iyer’s half-century was the highlight of the chase. His aggressive batting style saw KKR race to 72 runs in the powerplay. Gurbaz, though dismissed later, played a crucial role with his quick runs. KKR captain Shreyas Iyer then joined Venkatesh, and together, they guided the team to victory in just 10.3 overs.

Celebrations and Reactions

The victory was met with jubilant celebrations from the KKR team and their fans. Captain Shreyas Iyer expressed immense pride in his team’s performance, stating, “We played like invincibles throughout the season, and there is so much to cherish right now. The performance has been flawless throughout.”

Venkatesh Iyer, who was instrumental in the final match, dedicated the win to the fans, saying, “This win is for the fans who turned up year after year and waited for ten years.” Andre Russell, overwhelmed with emotions, acknowledged the support of the franchise and his teammates.

A Season to Remember

This victory marked KKR’s third IPL title, bringing them closer to the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, each with five titles. Consistent performances, strategic planning, and the emergence of new talents like Vaibhav Arora and Harshit Rana marked KKR’s journey through the season.

Their bowling unit, comprising experienced players like Starc and Narine alongside young talents, was key to their success. The team’s ability to perform under pressure and adapt to different match situations showcased their depth and resilience.

Looking Ahead

With the IPL season concluded, the cricketing world now turns its attention to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, set to begin in the United States and the Caribbean next month. Fans eagerly await the continuation of exciting cricket action and hope to see more stellar performances from their favorite players.


The IPL 2024 final was a thrilling end to a competitive season, with KKR emerging as deserving champions. Their comprehensive victory against SRH highlighted their dominance and strategic brilliance, setting a high benchmark for the next season.


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *